UNESCO world heritage sites in Hungary

The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) seek to encourage the identification, protection and preservation of cultural and natural heritage around the world considered to be of outstanding value to humanity. This is embodied in an international treaty called the Convention concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage, adopted by UNESCO in 1972.

Properties in Hungary, inscribed on the World Heritage List

• Budapest, including the Banks of the Danube, the Buda Castle Quarter and Andrássy Avenue (1987)
• Early Christian Necropolis of Pécs (Sopianae) (2000)
• Fertö / Neusiedlersee Cultural Landscape (2001)
• Hortobágy National Park (the Puszta) (1999)
• Millenary Benedictine Abbey of Pannonhalma and its Natural Environment (1996)
• Old Village of Hollókő and its Surroundings (1987)
• Tokaj Wine Region Historic Cultural Landscape (2002)

• Caves of Aggtelek Karst and Slovak Karst (1995)

Properties submitted on the Tentative List
A Tentative List is an inventory of those properties which each State Party intends to consider for nomination.

• Le Château-fort médiéval d’Esztergom (1993)
• The Tihany Peninsula (1993)
• Caves of the Buda Thermal Karst System (1993)
• Medieval Royal Seat and Parkland at Visegrád (2000)
• System of Fortifications at the Confluence of the Rivers Danube and Váh in Komárno – Komárom (2007)
• The Network of Rural Heritage Buildings in Hungary (2000)
• State Stud-Farm Estate of Mezöhegyes (2000)
• The Wooden Churches of the Northern Part of the Carpathian Basin (2000)
• The Ipolytarnóc Fossils (2000)
• Ödön Lechner’s independent pre-modern architecture (2008)
• Frontiers of the Roman Empire – Ripa Pannonica in Hungary (2009)